MTAC - Sacramento Branch Home Page
Click the image for the
MTAC Sacramento County Branch Home Page
Music Teachers' Association of California
Sacramento County Branch


Detail for the Book:
"What to Listen for in Music"

Reserve this item (sends an e-mail)

Available?: Yes Borrower: Category: Pedagogy
Author: Copland, Aaron Copyright: 1985 Publishing Company: New American Library (orig. McGraw-Hill Book Company, 1957)
Media: Book Number of Pages: 307
Description: In this fascinating analysis of how to listen to music intelligently, Aaron Copland, the eminent modern American composer, poses two basic questions: Are you hearing everything that is going on? Are you really being sensitive to it? If you cannot answer yes to both of these questions, you owe it to yourself to read this book. Whether you listen to Mozart or Duke Ellington, Aaron Copland_s provocative suggestions for listening to music from the composer_s point of view will bring you a deeper appreciation of the most rewarding of all art forms. This classic work, the only book of its kind written by a great composer, features:
  • Chapters on contempoary music and film music
  • A list of records keyed to the chapters
  • A selected list of books for further reading
Dates Requested/Returned...
Last Date Requested: Last Date Returned:
Request Date 2: Date Returned 2:
Request Date 3: Date Returned 3:
Request Date 4: Date Returned 4:
Request Date 5: Date Returned 5:
Request Date 6: Date Returned 6:
Request Date 7: Date Returned 7:
Request Date 8: Date Returned 8:
Request Date 9: Date Returned 9:
Request Date 10: Date Returned 10:

Website sponsored by The Tuning Note

This web site designed and maintained by Chwalik Internet Enterprises.
2011-2015 Chwalik Internet Enterprises. All rights reserved.